Welcome to the Bondi Writers website.

The Bondi Writers’ Group (Bondi Writers) began September 2004 in the Seagull Room at the Bondi Pavilion.

We formed under the banner of The Fellowship of Australian Writers and are the official Eastern Suburbs group.

We are a group of local writers, both amateur and professional, who have diverse interests in writing. We come together once a month to be inspired by people who have travelled the writing road. We are a support-base for each other as well as providing an exchange of information and ideas.

Each month over the past year we have had a guest speaker, either a published author, a person from inside the industry, or a writing teacher. We also have meetings on our own, to share writing and stories and have a social time together.

We currently ask for a donation each meeting to go towards costs. For members we ask $2, and for non members $5.

We publish news about ourselves in the FAW quarterly newsletter WRITER’S VOICE. We have had articles published about us

The Committee

President: Frankie Dowling
Secretary: Gavin Austin
  Treasurer: Yvette Maurice
  Membership Officer: Prim Moss
  Communications: Anne Skyvington

Bondi Writers gratefully acknowledge the grant from Waverley Council that makes this short story competition possible.

Open theme, maximum 3,000 words. Unlimited entries, no entry form required, attach cover sheet with author details. Usual competition conditions apply. White A4 paper, no names on manuscript, double line spaced, and pages numbered please. Entry must not have won a monetary prize nor have been published as at the close date.

  • Include SSAE for results and judge's report.
  • Entry fee $5 per entry.
  • Make cheque/money order payable to Bondi Writers Group.
  • First Prize $200.
  • Second prize $100.

RESULTS FOR THE F.A.W Eastern Suburbs Branch (Bondi Writers) 2013 SHORT STORY COMPETITION

First Prize:

“The War And Alice Faye” by Keith Youman

Second Prize:

“Admit One” by Debi Hamilton

Highly Commended:

“The Birthday Party” by Suzanne Gaskell
“The Wedgetail” by Faie Dana Watson


“Coq Au Vin” by Susan Beinart
“Secrets From People” by Maggie Veness

Support by Waverley CouncilSUPPORTED BY

The Bondi Writers Group are indebted to Waverley Council for the support we receive and we heartily thank them.

The Theory Room at Waverley Library,

32-48 Denison St., Bondi Junction

2 to 4pm on the third Sunday of the month

$5 non members or
$2 FAW Members

more >>

Keep up to date with the very latest news at the official
B.W.G blog!



Membership is $45 per year.

As a member you receive the FAW magazine, a newsletter and discounted entry into monthly meetings. Also support for entering competitions, submitting to publications and any other projects with which the group is involved.

Download the application form.


L A T E S T   N E W S

There will be no meeting this month (April) due to the Easter holidays.

Renewal of mlemberships and new memberships will take place at this meeting. The annual fee is $45. Please make cheques payable to "Bondi Writers Group" or if paying in cash, please have the exact amount.

To enroll as a member download the membership form. Complete this form in full, even if you are an existing member, so we can update our records if neccessary. Please take the completed form to the December meeting. If you are unable to attend you may post the completed form with a cheque to Bondi Writers, PO Box 701, Bondi Junction, NSW 1355.

The results of the Seagull Award Short Story Competition will also be announced at the meeting.

As this is the last meeting of 2013 and it is Christmas, please feel free to bring some Christmas fare with you to share with other members at the meeting.

Please find attached the meeting agenda.

May I take this opportunity to wish you all a very Happy Christmas, and a very happy and peaceful New Year.

Best regards,

Bondi Tides

Bondi Tides is an anthology from the Bondi Writers’ Group which is the Eastern Suburbs branch of the Fellowship of Australian Writers. Our branch was founded 6 years ago by Christine Butler and by Sunny Wong, the latter being one of our current members. The Fellowship itself was formed in 1928 by a group including the poet, Mary Gilmore. Many of our members are award-winning, widely published writers who work across different genres - short stories, novels, memoir, poetry, haiku, haibun and tanka.

Carol Chandler

'Bondi Tides' editor, Carol Chandler.
eXTReMe Tracker
proudly brought to you by... WattleGum Web Works